top of page

Sight Words - LB Dunbar


What can I say? I think I’m at the point with this author’s work that I could just pick up any book she writes without looking at the blurb and enjoy it. That doesn’t often happen with me. I haven’t yet read all of LBs work but from what I’ve read so far this lady has me as a fan for life.

Sight Words is the last of the Sensations collection, of which there are 5 books, each concentrating on different couples from a sleepy little town of Elk Rapids.. This one is Tricia and Leon’s story. I was particularly drawn to this as I haven’t really read much on the whole gang genre, I wanted to see how LB would manage to merge these two cultures. It’s a slow burner of a book, it gets under your skin and there’s a mysteriousness as to where the author is going to take the story. There’s little curveballs along the way that keep the reader in suspense and propel the story. I liked that build up very much indeed. Anticipation is always a good thing in books and LB did a stellar job building that.

Again, the character development is second to none. I liked both characters very much. I think the reader would be forgiven for thinking Leon is much older than his years as he certainly had the weight of the world on his shoulders that he carried with a grace and style that endears the character. Tricia was easy to fall in love with too. Her easy going ways captivate you and you root for her from start to finish. It’s a very push and pull relationship that these two find themselves in with each other. You understand their reasons for pulling/holding back. They have a chemistry that is really hard to deny.

LB touches on a lot of heavy subjects in this book, some with dark themes running in them and I think that she wrote with so much feeling and emotion that she did them justice. I quite often find that the last book in a series is a hit or a miss as it can be an emotional rollercoaster for the author. LB did grand here. I can’t compare it to the rest as I haven’t managed to get to them as of yet but I’d hedge a bet that this is probably the best of the 5 books.

Knowing some personal information about LB I really like that she uses that in her books, it makes for a more believable reading experience. I had one gripe about this book though and it pulled my rating down slightly. I felt that there were one or two scenes missing. I’m an all in girl and I need everything I’m afraid. I wanted the details, when Leon takes off for 3 days to find his sister for example. There wasn’t very much information on that, just snippets in conversations later, for me that wasn’t good enough, I needed to know. So sadly I can only award the 4 ½. As always LB’s writing is top notch and simply amazing. She writes in such a passionate way that it’s really difficult not to get swept up in the emotion of it all.

I’ll say it again….keep writing, you’re a winner and your books are simply beautiful LB x


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page