top of page

King by TM Frazier - Review


I am a huge fan of TM Frazier’s The Dark Light of Day; in fact it was one of my top ten reads for last year so I was more than a little excited to see this coming. I was expecting something similar in terms of the dark side TM dragged us down into with her previous book and unfortunately I was disappointed. Of course I wasn’t looking for the same kind of story as that would be absurd. I really wanted to get lost in this, immersed. I wanted those all-consuming emotions that were ever present in The Dark Light of Day. That intensity was missing for me and I’m still not quite sure how I feel about this novel as a whole quite yet. It’s probably been a 3 ½ star read for me and I’m really struggling to write this review so excuse me if I ramble.

Don’t get me wrong, this is a really decent read but there were a few things that I struggled with. The first was my dislike for King. I really don’t think I warmed to him at all throughout the whole book. I love an alpha guy just as much as the next person but King was something else. I found nothing in him that I liked except perhaps his relationship with Preppy. Sometimes redemption comes a little too late. Doe confused me to no end. I really didn’t get her or her way of thinking at times. Of course she had likeable character traits but sometimes I had to shake my head at her. I think Preppy stole the show a little but when I found myself liking him things were said in flippant comments that had me questioning exactly why I liked him. I’m not exactly sure how Bear fits into this but he’s there none the less.

The story is there, and in true TM Frazier style she cuts you down when you least expect it but it had nowhere near the shock value that her previous book had for that moment. There are definitely some omg, wtf? Moments in this book though. You leave this read with more questions than answers so if that isn’t your thing then I would leave well alone. This is a crude and raw story that won’t appeal to everyone. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to Tyrant in August but I did have some grievances with this.

NOW AVAILABLE Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1ALhF4i Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1AOJb0q iBooks: http://apple.co/1KreL6J Nook: http://bit.ly/1B7H73R

Blurb - Homeless. Hungry. Desperate.

Doe has no memories of who she is or where she comes from.

A notorious career criminal just released from prison, King is someone you don’t want to cross unless you’re prepared to pay him back in blood, sweat, pussy or a combination of all three.

King’s future hangs in the balance. Doe’s is written in her past. When they come crashing together, they will have to learn that sometimes in order to hold on, you have to first let go.

Warning: This book contains graphic violence, consensual and nonconsensual sex, drug use, abuse, and other taboo subjects and adult subject matter. Although originally slated to be a standalone, KING is now a two part series.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page